Germany - Bauhaus and its Sites in Weimar, Dessau and Bernau

"Between 1919 and 1933, the Bauhaus School, based first in Weimar and then in Dessau, revolutionized architectural and aesthetic concepts and practices. The buildings put up and decorated by the school's professors (Walter Gropius, Hannes Meyer, Laszlo Moholy-Nagy and Wassily Kandinsky) launched the Modern Movement, which shaped much of the architecture of the 20th century.

This site, which was inscribed on the World Heritage List in 1996, originally comprised the groups of buildings and monuments located in Weimar and Dessau, all built under the direction of Walter Gropius, the first director of the Bauhaus School. The extension of the property includes the Houses with Balcony Access in Dessau – three storey brick blocks for low-income students – and the ADGB Trade Union School in Bernau built under the direction of Hannes Meyer, successor to Gropius until 1930. This extension reflects the contribution of the department of architecture to the austere design, functionalism and social reform of the Bauhaus, a movement which was to revolutionise architectural thinking and practice in the 20th century."

Source: UNESCO World Heritage

Postcard 1 - Weimar
Bauhas Weimar. Thanks to Anja of Germany.

Postcard 2 - Dessau
Multi-view of Bauhausbauten in Dessau-Rosslau. Nice stamps used. Thanks to Brigitte of Germany.

No comments:

Post a Comment