Italy - Late Baroque Towns of the Val di Noto (South-Eastern Sicily)

"The eight towns in south-eastern Sicily: Caltagirone, Militello Val di Catania, Catania, Modica, Noto, Palazzolo, Ragusa and Scicli, were all rebuilt after 1693 on or beside towns existing at the time of the earthquake which took place in that year. They represent a considerable collective undertaking, successfully carried out at a high level of architectural and artistic achievement. Keeping within the late Baroque style of the day, they also depict distinctive innovations in town planning and urban building." 

Source: UNESCO World Heritage

Postcard 1 - Modica
Sculptures of Modica, south Sicily. Thanks to Pietro of Sicily, Italy.

Postcard 2 - Noto
Noto - one of the eight towns. Thanks to Johnson of UK.

Postcard 3 - Ragusa
Cathedral of Ragusa. Thanks to Jessica of Sicily, Italy.

No comments:

Post a Comment