Italy - Sacri Monti of Piedmont and Lombardy

"The nine Sacri Monti (Sacred Mountains) of northern Italy are groups of chapels and other architectural features created in the late 16th and 17th centuries and dedicated to different aspects of the Christian faith. In addition to their symbolic spiritual meaning, they are of great beauty by virtue of the skill with which they have been integrated into the surrounding natural landscape of hills, forests and lakes. They also house much important artistic material in the form of wall paintings and statuary."

1) Sacro Monte o “Nuova Gerusalemme” di Varallo Sesia, Vercelli 
2)Sacro Monte di S.Maria Assunta di Serralunga di Crea. Alessandria
3)Sacro Monte di San Francesco d’Orta San Giulio, Novara
4) Sacro Monte della SS.Trinità, Ghiffa, Verbania
5) Sacro Monte Calvario, Domodossola, Verbania 
6) Sacro Monte di Belmonte, Valperga Canavese, Turin
7) Sacro Monte della Beata Vergine, Oropa,  Biella

8) Sacro Monte del Rosario di Varese, Varese
9) Sacro Monte della Beata Vergine del Soccorso, Ossuccio, Como

Source: UNESCO World Heritage

Postcard 1A - LOMBARDY: Sacro Monte della Beata Vergine del Soccorso, Ossuccio, Como
Santuario B.V. Del Soccorso is one of the 9 sites of Sacri Monti. Thanks to Morino of Italy.

Postcard 1B - Ossucio
A mutli-view of Ossucio. Thanks to Ruth of USA who visited this site in Italy.

Postcard 2 - PIEDMONT:  Sacro Monte o “Nuova Gerusalemme” di Varallo Sesia, Vercelli
Sacro Monte Varallo - Sacred Mountain of Varallo - one of the largest chapels. Thanks to Chiaro of Italy.

No comments:

Post a Comment