South Korea - Sansa, Buddhist Mountain Monasteries in Korea

"The Sansa are Buddhist mountain monasteries located throughout the southern provinces of the Korean Peninsula. The spatial arrangement of the seven temples that comprise the site, established from the 7th to 9th centuries, present common characteristics that are specific to Korea – the “madang” (open courtyard) flanked by four buildings (Buddha Hall, pavilion, lecture hall and dormitory). They contain a large number of individually remarkable structures, objects, documents and shrines. These mountain monasteries are sacred places, which have survived as living centres of faith and daily religious practice to the present."

Source: UNESCO World Heritage

Beopju Temple of Boeun-gun, Chungcheongbuk-do is one of the seven traditional Buddhist Mountain Temples in South Korea. Thanks to CYL who bought this postcard in South Korea.

No comments:

Post a Comment